Career · Life

It’s time to be REAL

Imagine: Relaxing and reimbursable cab rides, going to great tech parks and finally getting to get home when you’re done with meetings. Doesn’t this sound like the Best Job to you? I had that job. 

“Grass is always greener on the other side” cannot hold more truer in this story. As my job in corporate travel sales, I got to meet people in different companies and skip going to office and returning home early! But that’s not it. Did I mention sales? Sales is always bound by targets…unreasonable targets. I, with many others were randomly allotted departments in the company. We were all fresh college pass outs, and this was going to be our first job, our first ever work experience, in a random department.

Thanks to our family or the ones who’ve looked after us, things aren’t the same today as they were few generations ago. I’m just 22. Does someone as young as that feel lost just because we made a wrong career choice?  Don’t we realize that we have more opportunities today than there were ever in history? I questioned, I pondered, I decided, in May 2016. To make a move.

My Parents had shifted back to Bombay and I came home. As much as they were happy to see me back, a sense of worry grew inside them. What now? I got few responses from the European universities I’d applied to, A was positive and B was negative. This is when it was TIME TO BE REAL. Having to choose between two paths, I chose to do what I have always wanted to focus on. Social entrepreneurship.

After weeks of unsuccessfully applying for jobs, one fine day, my sister shared a link with me. And I applied, gave a Skype interview. I am extremely elated to announce to you all that I will be interning at India Hikes, in the Himalayas, which begins in September! Our mission is to work on waste management for 45 days, post completion of Roopkund Trek. The team is working on making pillows out of plastic waste and growing it into a profitable social enterprise! A feeling of great contentment has set in me. Well, at least for those 45 days.

Happening to be Happy is a blog that I define as a path towards my goal to make others happy and feel close to one another. With my stories, I want to make us realize that we are the powerhouse of our happiness. We get to create, share it and cherish it.

And for that, I believe, it’s time to be focused and it’s time to be REAL.

2 thoughts on “It’s time to be REAL

Leave a Reply

